< All Sharon Creech books

Saving Winslow

By Sharon Creech

Description

An Indie Next List Pick!

“A winning tale of love.” Kirkus (starred review)

Perfect for fans of Charlotte’s Web and The One and Only Ivan, Saving Winslow is an uplifting modern classic in the making about a young boy who befriends an ailing newborn donkey and nurses him back to health, from New York Times bestseller and Newbery Medal winner Sharon Creech.

Louie doesn't have the best luck when it comes to nurturing small creatures. So when his father brings home a sickly newborn mini donkey, he's determined to save him. He names him Winslow. Taking care of him helps Louie feel closer to his brother, Gus, who is far, far away in the army.

Everyone worries that Winslow won't survive, especially Louie’s quirky new friend, Nora, who has experienced loss of her own. But as Louie's bond with Winslow grows, surprising and life-altering events prove that this fragile donkey is stronger than anyone could have imagined.

Written in the spirit of Creech favorites Moo and Love That Dog, this standout tale about love and friendship and letting go will tug at the heartstrings.

“This heartwarming story is sure to be a hit with fans of E. B. White’s Charlotte’s Web and Kate DiCamillo’s Because of Winn-Dixie.” School Library Journal (starred review)

“Creech packs a tremendous amount of emotion between the lines of her understated prose. Animal lovers in particular will relish Louie’s hard-won triumphs and find joy in Winslow’s strength.” Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“Woven into this narrative is a convincing portrayal of human growth and blossoming—the story is told simply but subtly, celebrating the unexpected strength of the vulnerable.” Horn Book (starred review)

Praises & Awards

Praises

Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

“Creech’s quiet prose explores worry and loss with a nuanced but kid-friendly approach—A clear-eyed look at the way humans endure heartbreak and hope.”

Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

“A winning tale of love.”

Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“Creech packs a tremendous amount of emotion between the lines of her understated prose… Animal lovers in particular will relish Louie’s hard-won triumphs and find joy in Winslow’s strength.”

School Library Journal (starred review)

“This heartwarming story is sure to be a hit with fans of E.B. White’s Charlotte’s Web and Kate DiCamillo’s Because of Winn-Dixie.”

Horn Book (starred review)

“Woven into this narrative is a convincing portrayal of human growth and blossoming—the story is told simply but subtly, celebrating the unexpected strength of the vulnerable.”

Booklist

“Particularly skillful and satisfying… An ideal choice for reading aloud or alone.”

Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

“A clear-eyed look at the way humans endure heartbreak and hope.”

Product Details

Imprint: HarperCollins

Format: Hardcover

On Sale: 09/11/2018

ISBN: 9780062570703

ISBN10: 0062570706

Pages: 176

Trimsize: 7.500 x 5.250 in

Subcategory:

JUVENILE FICTION / Social Issues / Friendship

JUVENILE FICTION / Animals / Pets

JUVENILE FICTION / Social Issues / Self-Esteem & Self-Reliance

Inspiration

Over the past four years, my grandchildren have raised several orphaned lambs—from the lambs’ weak bleats and bottle feedings day and night to their gamboling through the house in diapers and eventually to their move to a nearby farm. I was struck by my grandchildren’s deep compassion for and dedication to rescuing these vulnerable animals. What strong mutual bonds form between animals and humans!

Since our granddaughter may want to write her own story of the lambs, I chose to write about another orphaned animal—a donkey—and immersed myself in donkey books and videos. Oh, those donkeys! I love them.

Tidbit

Our granddaughter has gone on to breed and raise her own small flock of Katahdin sheep, a flock that grows in number each year with the births of new lambs.

Recently, our granddaughter moved her sheep flock to a farm that could better accommodate their growing numbers. Who else lives at the farm? No other animals – except for a donkey named Jonathan. Although he is full-grown, he is a lot like Winslow—funny, gentle, and ridiculously loud.

Bottle-feeding Dove
Bottle-feeding twin lambs
Thriving lambs
Jonathan the donkey
Jonathan and SC reading SWinslow

Extra Links